Halfmoon Bay
Stewart Island

Who is the Commissioner?

Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment Dr Jan Wright

Dr Jan Wright

Dr Jan Wright was sworn in as Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment for a five-year term on 5 March 2007 and reappointed for a second term in 2012

Jan has a multidisciplinary background with a Physics degree from Canterbury, a Masters degree in Energy and Resources from Berkeley in California, and a PhD in Public Policy from Harvard. In 2012 Dr Wright was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science from Lincoln University, and in 2015 she was made a Companion of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

Prior to her current role, Jan worked as an independent policy and economic consultant for many different government agencies and as a member of various Crown Entity Boards.

The office

The Commissioner has a total of 16 staff. They come from a wide range of disciplines and bring a variety of work and life experience. Their work ranges from individual assignments to teamwork on major investigations that may last several months.

The role of the staff is to provide administrative, technical, and general support for the Commissioner's investigations.